Review: Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies: On Myths, Morons, Free Speech, Football, and Assorted Absurdities

Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies: On Myths, Morons, Free Speech, Football, and Assorted Absurdities
Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies: On Myths, Morons, Free Speech, Football, and Assorted Absurdities by Chris Kluwe
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Book #15 for 2017
The Legendary Book Club of Habitica’s Ultimate Reading Challenge Task: A book of any genre that addresses current events
Possible Book Bingo Squares:
– An Audiobook
– A Book Written by a Celebrity
PopSugar Challenge Prompts:
– An audiobook
– A book with a subtitle

I really, really wanted to like this book. The title made it sound like so much fun. And it seems that I do agree with the author about lots of things. However, this presentation left a lot to be desired. I felt like most of the book was stuff I could have written myself, just with far less swearing. I’m not exactly against swearing, mind you, but his claim that the swearing is necessary to reach the “on the fence” people just sounds lame and not particularly well thought out. It was like he was trying to preach to the choir, but instead he just yelled at the choir. That sort of thing mostly just pisses off the choir.

I also did not find that Kluwe had much of anything new or compelling to say about any of the topics. I kept thinking, “Well, yes, you have a point, but it is a point that has been made numerous times already.” And then some of his rants amounted to little more than, “Get off my lawn!” It was like listening to a younger, less experienced, more profane Andy Rooney. And I liked Andy Rooney, but he didn’t take himself quite so seriously.

Also, Kluwe can’t pronounce “nuclear” correctly.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

