Review: The Wonder

The Wonder
The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #9 for 2017
GenreLand Game: Romance
Possible Book Bingo Squares:
– A 2016 Bestseller
– A Book with a Female Heroine
PopSugar Reading Challenge Prompts:
– A book with career advice (nursing, science in general)
– A book by an author from a country you’ve never visited
– A bestseller from 2016
– A book with an eccentric character
Better World Books Task: A book by a female writer
Legendary Book Club of Habitica’s Ultimate Reading Challenge: A book with career advice

I can’t say a whole lot without being spoilery, so I will make only a few observations here:
1. With some careful editing, this could have been a kick-ass novella instead of a so-so novel. The pacing was awkward and full of repetition about Lib’s sense of irony and the clash of science and religion.
2. It was surprising how dense Lib was at times. I occasionally wanted to smack her.
3. I was also surprised that I rather liked the romance storyline.
4. I liked the ending, but I think the story would have been much stronger if it had ended in a way I probably wouldn’t like nearly as much.

Would I recommend it? To some readers, sure, but it’s definitely not for everybody. If you aren’t much interested in Catholic tradition (or, conversely, you are heavily invested in Catholic tradition), you probably won’t enjoy this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

