Review: File M for Murder

File M for Murder
File M for Murder by Miranda James
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #6 for 2017; #4 for the Mt TBR Challenge
Follow the Clues Challenge: Chain 1, Clue 3
Personal Challenge Task: A book with a cat on the cover
Habitica’s Ultimate Reading Challenge Task: A book with a cat on the cover
PopSugar Challenge Prompts:
– A book with a cat on the cover (Do I sense a theme here?)
– A book by an author who uses a pseudonym
– A book with an eccentric character

This is a book about a really cool Maine Coon cat named Diesel. And there’s a murder mystery, too. But it’s mainly about what an awesome cat Diesel is. Diesel isn’t a Koko-style crime-solving cat. He’s just a really great cat.

Oh, there are some people, too. And one of them is murdered. He was not a really cool cat. So I was not terribly put out that he was murdered. I don’t think many people in the book were, either. But they solved the mystery anyway. I don’t really remember much about that part of the book. Did I mention Diesel, this really cool cat? Him I remember. The people, not so much. Maybe if I’d already read earlier books in the series, they’d seem more important to me.

If you’re looking for a cozy mystery and you really, really like cats, you might enjoy this. It’s nice and light and has some funny moments. The dialogue is a little on-the-nose, and the action gets a bit melodramatic at times, but there’s this neat cat, see? So this book isn’t for everyone, but if I come across any earlier books in the series, I will probably read them.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

