Review: Matilda

Matilda
Matilda by Roald Dahl
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book #56 for 2016
Read Harder Challenge Task: Listen to an audiobook that has won an Audie Award.

Kate Winslet did a phenomenal job of reading this book, carefully voicing the various characters, and she totally deserves that Audie! I also enjoyed the story, which was fun and unpredictable, yet really quite grim. Matilda’s family put me in mind of the Dursleys, and the Trunchbull was sort of a Dolores Umbridge on steroids. If British literature is anything to go by, I am glad in the extreme that I never attended school there as a child. It always sounds absolutely dreadful, and I would be surprised if anybody ever survived it without being psychologically scarred for life.

I am amazed that the twist was never spoilered for me. I will pay it forward and say only that I liked how carefully Dahl handled it. Throughout the story, he made it clear that Matilda knew what was what and was perfectly capable of making up her own mind about things. I’ve never seen the film, but the casting of Mara Wilson was simply perfect for the role of Matilda. I will probably seek out the film.

I have to admit that I’m not Dahl’s biggest fan, but this book was a winner. I have to think most Matilda-aged children would enjoy it even more than I did.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Matilda

Leave a Reply

