Review: Relish: My Life in the Kitchen

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen
Relish: My Life in the Kitchen by Lucy Knisley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book #52 for 2016
Read Harder Challenge Task:
– Read a non-superhero comic that debuted in the last three years.
– Read a food memoir.
PopSugar Challenge Category: A graphic novel.

The next time somebody asks me what authors I would invite to a dinner party, Lucy Knisley will be at the top of my list. Especially if it’s a potluck! But seriously, anybody who has ever traveled with me (or been subjected to my vacation photos) knows that food is paramount in my life. Lucy strikes me as the kind of person who totally gets that, yet isn’t a snob about food, either. She would fully comprehend my disappointment in myself for missing out on Belgian delicacies during my Brussels layover (because sleep!), but she would also understand my occasional craving for a green chile cheeseburger from Sonic.

The recipes all look great, and I’m sorry I didn’t have the opportunity to try at least one of them before returning the book to the library. There are also lots of great info nuggets scattered throughout. I mean, I thought I knew a lot about cheese, but wow!

I don’t normally do well with the graphic novel format, but Knisley’s illustrations were cleanly rendered and fun, and the narrative flowed smoothly. It was relaxing to hitch a ride with her on this trip down her foodie memory lane. This book is a delight and precisely what I needed in the second week of this November. I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anybody who loves food.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

