My 2017 Personal Reading Challenge

As I mentioned in a recent post, this year I started a Personal Reading Challenge based on 2015 reads that didn’t fit into that year’s challenges. My 2016 challenge consisted of 30 categories, and I have only five left to complete. Time is running short, but it is do-able. Fortunately for 2017-me, next year’s list is considerably shorter:

  1. A self-published book
  2. A book about a haunted building
  3. An illustrated children’s book
  4. A book with a key on the cover
  5. A book with the word “Girl” in the title
  6. A story told from a non-human POV
  7. An award-winning book
  8. A book with a woman on the cover
  9. A book by a medical doctor
  10. A book about a sheriff
  11. A book with a cat on the cover

And I fell short on two 2016 challenges (this one and PopSugar’s) so I’m adding those prompts to this one:

  1. A book featuring a bookstore
  2. A book set in a retirement community
  3. A book set on another planet
  4. A book you haven’t read since high school
  5. A political memoir
  6. A book at least 100 years older than you
  7. A book from Oprah’s Book Club
  8. A book recommended by a family member
  9. A book with a protagonist who has your occupation
  10. The first book you see in a bookstore
  11. A book about a road trip

As before, feel free to join in! You can comment on this post and/or on your own blog or Twitter or whatever. I’m also starting a Goodreads group for this and other challenges I pose. I’d love to hear your suggestions for books for these categories.

One thought on “My 2017 Personal Reading Challenge

  1. Pingback: My 2016 in Books | Exploding Steamboats

Leave a Reply

