Review: The Girl With No Past

The Girl With No Past
The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #43 for 2016

This was certainly a page-turner of a story, I’ll give it that. And I liked it quite a bit when I’d first finished it, but the more I’ve thought about it since, the more disappointed I’ve been. There are a lot of really good suspense/thriller elements going on here, but it feels like they were developed independently of the larger picture. I kind of wonder if Croft totally pantsed this straight through for NaNoWriMo one year and then edited it for publication without really revisiting the plot structure, because it doesn’t hang together all that well.

I can’t say much more than that without getting into spoiler territory, but I will tell you this much: Don’t bother trying to match up a motive and a villain while you’re reading this. It won’t make any sense until the big reveal because it verges on being random. And even then, when you get all the missing bits tossed at you, don’t think about them too awful hard, because they aren’t meant to withstand that kind of scrutiny.

I suppose I can also reveal that Leah does a lot of really stupid things. Maybe that was intentional, an attempt to show that after the traumatic incident, she quit maturing in some ways. I just can’t help but think that if Leah had just gone to her therapy sessions and, I don’t know, grown a frickin’ spine or something, none of this would have happened.

So, yeah, the story was problematic, but as you can see from the other reviews, there aren’t very many of us picking it apart like this. If you just want a quick-moving suspense novel about a woman being stalked because of teenage stupidity, and you aren’t inclined to analyze it overmuch, you could do a lot worse than this one.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

