Bout of Books 17, Day 1 Challenge

For #BoutOfBooks 17, the first challenge (hosted by Writing My Own Fairy Tale) is to post about my most and least favorite film adaptations of books. This is actually a little difficult for me, as I learned long ago that I very rarely enjoy both the book and the movie (or show), so I tend to pick one and then never bother with the other. There are exceptions, of course. (And they are often associated with a reading challenge, which also explains why I have yet to write my book review for Pope Joan.)

This may not be entirely fair, but for most favorite, I am going with a film that I enjoyed but a book that I could barely begin, let alone finish. Seabiscuit (2003). Seabiscuit Poster It’s been far too long ago for me to give you a movie review at this point, but I distinctly remember being pleasantly surprised that I liked a movie about horseracing so much. Back then I had pretty much zero interest in the topic. I was eager to read the book — and then so terribly disappointed. A few chapters in, I had to chuck it. It was good only as a cure for insomnia. (I should probably mention that the vast majority of Goodreads reviewers disagree with me on this point.) So props to the filmmakers for turning a really boring book into a highly entertaining and critically acclaimed film.

For least favorite film adaptation, there are many to choose from, but I’m going to go with my gut and say Rebecca (1940). Rebecca Poster Yep, the Hitchcock classic. I know, I know, there are so many more terrible movies from books. And I hated Hitchcock’s The Birds (1963) so much that I have since refused to watch any Hitchcock adaptation of du Maurier’s work. But du Maurier’s Rebecca is a novel near and dear to my heart, one of the few books that I have re-read multiple times. Like many readers, I tend to make a movie in my head while I’m reading, and there were several scenes about which I felt very strongly. I had a remarkably vivid vision of how the ball, in particular, should look. And Hitchcock flat ruined it. Not just that scene, but that’s what makes my blood boil even now. It’s a good thing for him he was cremated and his ashes were scattered in the Pacific Ocean, because I wanted very much to dig up his corpse and mutilate it.

Leave a Reply

