Review: The Shining

The Shining
The Shining by Stephen King
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #20 for 2016
PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A NYT bestseller
– A book that’s more than 600 pages
– A classic from the 20th century
Read Harder Challenge Tasks:
– Read a book originally published in the decade you were born
– Read a book over 500 pages long

This book lacks the maturity of style of, say, The Green Mile, and the formatting King chose for the internal/psychic dialogue is annoying af, but the creepy scenes are brilliant and effective. And even though the themes underlying the horror feel very 1970s to me (and I barely tolerated the ’70s), especially in their sexuality, it is easy to see King developing into the master he is today.

The setting King chose is also interesting to me, even though I’ve never been to the Stanley. I really should do that sometime, especially now that they’re installing a hedge maze. Every now and then the local NaNoWriMo folks talk about doing a little writing retreat there. I’m not sure if that’s a great idea or a terrible one.

I did try to watch the Kubrick film many years ago, but I kept falling asleep, so I don’t have any personal comparisons to make, but from what I’ve heard about it, it sounds really crappy. So I guess I haven’t missed much there. But I’ve heard tell of a newer version, so maybe I’ll look for that one and see what I think.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

