Review: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls
Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #17 for 2016
PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A NYT bestseller
– A book written by a comedian
– A book from the library
– A satirical book
Personal Challenge Category:
– A book with a queer protagonist
Read Harder Task:
– Read a collection of essays

I’m actually kind of lukewarm on Sedaris. I remember reading Me Talk Pretty One Day and, while enjoying the humor, being put off by his tendency to self-absorption and his cavalier attitude towards drug abuse. Some of that came through in this collection as well, but even more, I came to despise his parents and was appalled that he seems to have come to accept their abusiveness in a sort of “that’s just how things were back then” manner. And the turtles. OMG. I have no words.

I have to admire, however, Sedaris’s gift for rambling on about a variety of topics and then somehow tying them together in some humorously insightful fashion. I also readily identified with him in some of his essays. Despite some unevenness, I have to say I liked this quite a bit. The shift to the satirical interp pieces near the end was odd, but I wish I’d had these back when I was doing IEs at forensics tournaments in high school. Frankly, I’d like to see Sedaris do a collection of just these.

If you’re already a Sedaris fan, you will probably enjoy this. I listened to it on CD and would definitely recommend that format. His delivery is really a huge part of the appeal. If you’re looking to try Sedaris for the first time, I’m not entirely certain this is the best place to start. Unfortunately, I’m not the best person to guide you in this, either, so check with some of his more ardent fans to see what they recommend.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

