Review: The Grownup

The Grownup
The Grownup by Gillian Flynn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #16 for 2016

PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A book that’s under 150 pages
– A NYT bestseller
– A book you can finish in a day

I enjoyed the first-person voice that Flynn chose for this story, but in retrospect I wonder if it isn’t a little inconsistent. There is so much confidence in it, even though she is relating events in the past, knowing how things turn out eventually. Or perhaps I missed a crucial past-to-present transition point. Anyhoo, I wasn’t terribly surprised by the main twist, as I got the Matchstick Men vibe early on and also picked up on the literary clues that were a trifle too obvious, if you ask me.

As for the ending….without going back and re-reading the whole thing, I can’t figure out if it’s really clever or full of massive plot holes. Maybe someday I’ll feel compelled to do that. Today is not that day.

Not really knowing how I feel about this story, I hesitate to recommend it to anybody. At the same time, I don’t want to discourage anybody from reading it and forming their own opinions. If I do ever re-read this one, it will be interesting to pick it apart and compare notes with others who have done the same.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

