Review: We Were Liars

We Were Liars
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book #10 for 2016
PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A book that takes place on an island
– A book that takes place during Summer
– A book you can finish in a day
– A YA bestseller
Personal Challenge Category:
– A book featuring a country house setting

This book really packed a wallop. Even though I picked up on the Robert Cormier vibe right away and figured out some key elements pretty quickly, I don’t think anything could have prepared me for the sharpness of the reveal. Well, maybe if I had a better understanding of King Lear, but no, probably not even then.

I was a little surprised that I connected so well with Cadence. I mean, she’s a trust-fund kid who summers on the family’s private island and is totally off her nut, ffs. But the haunting tone of her narrative put me in mind of As Simple As Snow, and I kept getting flashes of Pretty Little Liars creepiness. Then there was the whole Labor Day weekend at the Lake angle that let me so totally identify with Cady and her Liars. Sure, we had state park cabins with an absurd granddaddy-longlegs population instead of fully staffed oceanfront mansions with ivory gewgaws, but the camaraderie with holiday friends I knew only from and in such a limited setting, that’s strangely powerful nostalgia.

My only real gripe with the book is that I never did understand why the Liars were dubbed the Liars in the first place. It was apparently something that predated Summer 15 by a number of years, but it was never explained, just stated as a given. Did I miss something important?

I would highly recommend this, but you can see from the other reviews, this is one of those polarizing books. So ymmv. I thought it was extremely well crafted, though, and would encourage you to give it a shot.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

