Review: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondō
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #11 for 2016
PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A book translated to English
– A New York Times bestseller
– A self-improvement book
– A book with a blue cover
– A book from the library
– A book that takes place on an island
Personal Challenge Category:
– A book written in the second person

Okay, okay, you’re right: Marie Kondo is batshit crazy. But you say that like it’s a bad thing.
Yes, she talks to inanimate objects and anthropomorphizes her belongings in a way unique to Japanese culture. But anybody who knows me and my beloved Ténèbre (she’s a Chrysler and she turned 11 last December) can attest that I’m not quite sane in this regard. So Kondo turned out to be a decent guide for me.

The book did have its drawbacks. Kondo’s tone was condescendingly repetitive at times, and her persona feels manufactured. Much of her advice is not the least bit groundbreaking, and I do think the book is way over-hyped, but she makes some points worth considering. Among my takeaways:
– Some things have served their purpose in your life simply by having been part of your life.
– Sorting by category instead of location is worth a shot.
– Joy is a personal thing, and there is no accounting for taste.

Kondo and I will never agree on certain things. For instance, spare buttons are cool in and of themselves. And the very idea of a house full of books I haven’t read yet sparks in me unimaginable joy. Also, having lots of toilet paper is a virtue. Seriously, I would love to take this woman to a Costco, just to watch her head explode. But first, I need to KonMari the daylights out of my sock drawer.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing

  1. “Seriously, I would love to take this woman to a Costco, just to watch her head explode.”

    Costco has only recently arrived in Canberra, and it’s still an experience for me. Very, very American, which is okay for some things, like giant jars of pickles, but not so much for others, like chocolate. I do not love Hershey – far too sweet.

    And lots of things to clutter one’s abode.

    I do like their hot dogs. Bargain.

    Books are a perennial bugbear. Much as I love libraries, I do not need to turn my cottage into one. I originally thought BookCrossing would solve the problem of having spare books in odd corners. Set them free. Into the wild.

    But no. Quite the reverse.

    Stationery is another problem. Notebooks and pens fill me with joy. And fill cupboards and drawers.

    I need to focus. And not put it iff until later.

    Oooh.

    Another book.

    Must buy it.

    And make some notes.

Leave a Reply

