Review: Decades of Memories from Bob Bland

Decades of Memories from Bob Bland
Decades of Memories from Bob Bland by Bob Bland
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Book #9 for 2016
PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A book that’s under 150 pages
– An autobiography

For me, personally, this book was more of a 1.5-star read, but I’m bumping it up to two stars because it is just fine for what it is. Bob Bland is a longtime resident of the Fort Collins area, and he makes no pretensions to being a professional writer. More than once in this comb-bound text, he refers to it as a letter to his family, and it helps to read it as such. As a newcomer to the area with no connection to Bob Bland’s family, I had more questions than answers after reading it, simply because I was unfamiliar with many things that are assumed a reader will already know. That said, I did enjoy the spots where he provided some detail about early 20th-century life in rural Colorado: maintaining a flock of sheep, building houses and such from scratch (and while blind!), driving a Model A to Arkansas, and so forth. If Mr Bland ever decides to work with a biographer to write a full-on autobiography, he certainly has plenty of promising material.

Mr Bland also intends this to be an inspirational work, and I’ll admit, I did a great deal of skimming over the many unattributed snippets of religious poetry scattered throughout. I’m sure lots of people would find it inspirational, but I was more annoyed by this, as well as by his patriarchal worldview. However, Mr Bland also consistently struck me as a man who does his level best to live his faith to the benefit of others, and I found him and his story to be inspirational in many other, more mundane ways.

I would recommend this to people who have a particular interest in the history of Larimer County as well as folks who are able to reminisce along with Bland about early 20th-century Americana.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

