Review: The Vintage Teacup Club

The Vintage Teacup Club
The Vintage Teacup Club by Vanessa Greene
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #6 for 2016
PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A book set in Europe
– A book with a blue cover
– A book that takes place on an island
– A book that takes place during summer
Personal Challenge Category:
– A book with multiple POV characters

This was probably more of a 2.5-star read for me, but it was a nice, pleasant read, so I’ll round up. I’m tempted to say that this is not the sort of thing I’d have picked up if it hadn’t been a book club selection, but that’s not really the case. I would have found the premise — three women who are strangers until a vintage tea set brings them together — intriguing enough. And I would have been expecting something more chick-lit-ish than my usual fare of murder mysteries and sci-fi adventures. Alas, I would have been expecting something more along the lines of Maeve Binchy, which is probably where my disappointment lies.

Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad book, and I didn’t dislike it. It is a very nice book. I just didn’t feel properly engaged by the characters or their stories, which held very few surprises for me. I found some scenes touching, but nothing really grabbed my emotions and twisted them in knots. (For contrast, I distinctly remember having a meltdown while reading Tara Road.) I also found it mildly irritating that every little thing, every thought going through anybody’s head, was fully explained to me. I suppose some readers like that. I would much rather have to work a little bit and have the thrill of an a-ha moment later on.

One thing that was odd about this book was that there were three POV characters, but only one (Jenny) was presented in the first person. The others were in a close third person. So I suppose the author identifies herself more closely with Jenny, but it still seems an odd stylistic choice. I also thought the whole Ruby-and-Derek subplot seemed kind of shoe-horned in there. But I can’t say any of this really detracted from the book.

If you’re a fan of this kind of story and are in the mood for something light and quick, you might want to give this a try. If you’re looking for a substantial read with some deeper meaning to it, though, you should keep looking.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

