Review: The Artistic Cat

The Artistic Cat
The Artistic Cat by Running Press
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #1 for 2016
PopSugar Challenge Categories:
– A book that’s under 150 pages
– A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy
Personal Challenge Category:
– A book featuring a cat

No, it does not normally take me nearly three weeks to get through a short, tiny book that is about half illustration. I just had a lot of other things taking priority and had to put this down shortly after starting it. This is a nice little collection of cat art and cat quotes, and it reminds me of a set of note cards I used to have. I imagine some of the same artists contributed, and I’d love to have some of these prints on my wall.

This is a great little book for any cat-lover, and it’s nice to flip through and re-read. Since it’s so tiny, I’m tempted to keep it. But its size also makes it perfect for tucking into my luggage, so I will take it with me to Europe in April so that I will not arrive at the BookCrossing convention empty-handed.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: The Artistic Cat

    • Hey, if you’re not already booked for the weekend of April 22nd, I’m sure you’d be welcomed in Athens! Have you checked out the http://www.bookcrossing.com site yet? It’s an amazing community. I just realized the other day that I joined over 13 years ago, but this will be only my 3rd annual convention. I went to the 10-year convention in DC, and then in 2013 I went to the one in Gothenburg, Sweden. (I go by stinalyn on the site.)

      • I checked it out briefly when I was living in a city (almost ten years ago!). I love the idea, but, at the time, felt like it was to much to “lose” my books. I have since moved to a town and it hasn’t picked up here. I’m not quite sure where a safe place to leave the books would be 😦 Maybe the coffee houses, but the parks are definitely off limits (tweakers, ugh). Hmm..

        I think it’s awesome you’re going to the conventions and hope your have fun at this one too. I would love to travel to Sweden in general one day.

        Hope you have loads of fun, I’ll have to keep an eye out for when their conventions come closer 😉

  1. There are unconventions and smaller meetups all over the place. What part of the country are you in? If you aren’t comfortable releasing into the wild where you are (though coffee shops tend to be good places to try), you could do some controlled releases. It’s been a while, but I will occasionally schedule a book-swap meeting and invite all of my reader friends, whether they are BookCrossers or not. The only problem is that I tend to wind up getting more books than I release.

Leave a Reply

