Review: The Midnight Queen

The Midnight Queen
The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #49 for 2015
PopSugar Challenge Criterion Met: A book based entirely on its cover.

Yes, I was totally sold by the title and the owl on the cover. I was born at midnight and I have a thing for owls. So the fact that this book’s protagonist shape-shifts into a bad-ass grey owl goes a long way to explaining why I enjoyed it so much, when I probably wouldn’t have otherwise. The story itself is not groundbreaking in any way, or clever at all, really, and the plot is peculiarly straightforward. The characters decide to do something, so they do it. Then they decide to do another thing, and then they do that. And it continues in this fashion for several hundred pages. They might encounter an obstacle now and then, but they correctly identify it right away, decide what to do, then…do it. They are also astonishingly good at distinguishing friend from foe and heading off trouble before it happens. Which is good for our plucky band, I suppose, just not so great for telling a suspenseful story.

I can recommend this only with a lot of reservations. If all you really want is a nice story with some fantasy trappings and a guy who can turn himself into an owl, and you aren’t in a mood to be critical, this is probably just the thing. Otherwise, you might want to give it a miss. Me? I’ll probably read the next one at least. Because owl.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

