Review: The Magician’s Lie

The Magician's Lie
The Magician’s Lie by Greer Macallister
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #47 for 2015

This was definitely a page-turner, and I really enjoyed the characters and the insider view of a turn-of-the-century magic show. The suspense surrounding Arden’s love life and the identification of the murder victim were done pretty effectively, but I felt that the pacing was a little odd at times. I particularly thought that the ending could have used more of a dénouement. And I would have to read the book again, but it seems to me that there is a very important inconsistency regarding just what Arden can and cannot do.

The story also had some good feminist themes, which was a nice surprise. It gave some interesting depths to the characters and their relationships, whereas this would otherwise have failed to engage me the way it did.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

