Review: The House of Silk a Sherlock Holmes Novel

The House of Silk a Sherlock Holmes Novel
The House of Silk a Sherlock Holmes Novel by Anthony Horowitz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #44 for 2015

I listened to this on CD, and Derek Jacobi (#pleasedontdie) did, as one might expect, a bang-up job of narrating this Holmesian adventure. And Horowitz has put together an excellent addition to the canon. I caught on to some things right away, and I was occasionally left behind in the dark with Watson, probably at about the same ratio as I was with the original stories. Horowitz does a good job of explaining Victorian tech and concepts without clunky passages of exposition. I also really enjoyed how Horowitz would sometimes get in sly digs at Doyle for his often lax attitude towards continuity.

I look forward to reading the short story referenced in both this book and in Moriarty and I also plan to read the next book in the series. I would recommend this to any Holmesian as well to anybody who just wants a good Victorian mystery-adventure tale.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

