Review: Mockingjay

Mockingjay
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #40 for 2015
PopSugar Challenge Criterion Met: A trilogy [conclusion]

I don’t think this is a spoilery review, but some might disagree, so you have been warned.

This is a very depressing end to the trilogy, but really, there wasn’t much else Collins could (or should) have done. The darkness was all there for a reason. When the POV character is so thoroughly damaged, it would be ludicrous to try to put a happy face on the horrible events throughout the story or to try for some kind of happily ever after. So Collins had an immensely challenging task to wrap up this story, and I think she did a good job of it for the most part.

The pacing seemed odd, but what else are you going to do when your POV character keeps landing in the hospital? And the resolution of the love triangle felt weird to me. But I’m not sure how I would have done it differently while still maintaining the deeper conflicts driving the story. And I missed Katniss’s humor. It did pop up occasionally, but it had such an edge to it that it almost didn’t count as humor. So, really good book, but not what I’d call enjoyable.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

