Review: Gemsigns

Gemsigns
Gemsigns by Stephanie Saulter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #39 for 2015
PopSugar Challenge Criterion Met: A book set during Christmas.

I have a lot of mixed feelings about this book. The opening is odd in not a good way, and there were quite a few debut-author problems that rubbed me the wrong way at times, but I actually quite liked the book. It really improved my understanding of what Saulter was going for when I read an interview where she described taking the community’s journey approach rather than the hero’s journey approach. Merry Anne’s view of the book as a morality play more than a novel also made a lot of sense to me.

We had an interesting discussion of just how far humanity would go to save itself. I’m still not sure what the answer is, and I hope I’m never in a position to find out.

I’m mad at myself for flipping through the book and accidentally spoilering Aryel’s gemsign for myself. And until it was brought up in discussion, I was still confused about the scene with the girl fleeing in the forest. So I was clearly not too on-the-ball when I was reading this, and I’m willing to give this author another try by reading the next book in the series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

