Review: Old Man’s War

Old Man's War
Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #35 for 2015

I didn’t love this like I did Redshirts, but it was still a good, entertaining read. I really enjoy Scalzi’s sense of humor, which seems to be a unifying thread running through his diverse books.

This really wasn’t what I was expecting. I had put off reading this one for quite a while, mainly because of the title, which is really, really boring. Just sayin’. What I got when I finally cracked it open was a sort of geriatric Harry Potter/Ender Wiggin mash-up that then turns into space opera. And it’s evident that Scalzi had a lot of fun bringing together a bunch of neat ideas and then playing with them. It will be interesting to see how the rest of the series plays out.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

