Review: The Elvenbane

The Elvenbane
The Elvenbane by Andre Norton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #30 for 2015
PopSugar Challenge Criterion Met: A book with more than 500 pages.

It took me a little while to get into this one, and I’m not sure it really needed to be 500+ pages. The tendency to explain every damn thing got a little annoying, but I am guessing this book was intended for a somewhat younger audience. I did enjoy the book and its gentle humor and fun plot. Plus — dragons! It also has elves, half-blood wizards, and even the occasional unicorn, and there are some interesting tweaks to the usual tropes. I especially liked how the dragons themselves thought the prophecy was just a practical joke they were playing on the elves.

Be warned that this is very ’80s, stylistically. If that’s not something you’re cool with, you’re bound to dislike it. Otherwise, I would recommend this book primarily to tween or teenage girls who are into all things dragon.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

