Review: Emma

Emma
Emma by Jane Austen
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Book #31 for 2015
PopSugar Challenge Criteria Met:
-A classic romance
-A book more than 100 years old

I am clearly in the minority here. Apparently this book is widely proclaimed as Jane Austen’s masterpiece, and I am just not feeling it. Okay, so maybe I did not care for Nadia May’s narration, and that could have impacted my feelings about the book, but really, for me this was a 12-disc slog. Perhaps I would feel differently were I to read the print version, but this is one book I think could benefit from abridgment. It just went on and on and on, and I did not find much of the cracking wit I so enjoyed in Pride and Prejudice.

Perhaps it is because Emma herself was so hard for me to warm to. I know Austen created her that way on purpose, and I can see and appreciate what she was trying to accomplish with this character who finally got a clue. It just didn’t work for me.

I won’t go so far as to recommend against this book, seeing as how it seems to appeal to everybody but me, but I would recommend against the audiobook with Nadia May. Half the time her voice was scratchy and irritating, and the other half it was like she was trying to put me to sleep (not appreciated while I’m driving). That might have been acceptable if she had been using it to differentiate characters, but as far as I could tell, she made absolutely no attempt to distinguish between the characters’ voices.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Emma

  1. I haven’t read this (it’s on my to be read list) but I can completely understand what you’re saying. I started watching the vlog version (Emma Approved) and did NOT get in to it, but when I went back later on to watch it all in one go, I absolutely loved it! Not as much as The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, but enough that I now want to read ‘Emma’!

Leave a Reply

