Review: The Torso in the Town

The Torso in the Town
The Torso in the Town by Simon Brett
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #28 for 2015
PopSugar Challenge Criterion Met: A book written by an author with your same initials. (I have lots of initials, so I just picked two of them.)

This is the third entry in the Fethering series, and some of the formula is getting a little stale. Carole still knows hardly anything about her BFF Jude, and it is sillier and sillier that she doesn’t just ask her questions. And even though there turned out to be more to it than the confession this time, the whole “question the villain after falling into the villain’s not-so-clever trap” ruse fails to entertain me. I thought some of the solution was fairly obvious, but at least there were lots of decent red herrings strewn about.

I’m not crazy about this series, but it does have its charms. The slice of English village life is nice and cozy, and it is interesting to watch the relationship between Carole and Jude develop, even if the pace can best be described as glacial. I expect I will read the next one whenever it turns up.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

