Review: Annihilation

Annihilation
Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Book #35 for 2014

Wow, was this a weird book or what? It was sort of like LOST, for which I still have a soft spot, despite its descent into chaos. And sort of like The Ruins, which I absolutely loathed. And it had this phenomenal unreliable narrator who had me constantly peeling away layers of possible reliability to discover more and more weirdness that just confused me and creeped me the hell out but compelled me to keep reading. I mean, just the notebooks… ::shiver:: Such effective horrors, so cleverly orchestrated.

As I explained in my earlier comments, at book club I rated this a 9/10 for quality of writing and a 4/10 for how much I actually liked it, which is why it gets 3 stars here. But I feel like I need to read the next book, too. So maybe I liked it more than I am willing to admit? Hell if I know.

Nevertheless, if you want to read something really, really weird and creepy af, this will do the trick.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

