Review: Sacré Bleu: A Comedy d’Art

Sacré Bleu: A Comedy d'Art
Sacré Bleu: A Comedy d’Art by Christopher Moore
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book #17 for 2015
PopSugar Challenge Criteria Met:
-A book you haven’t read yet from an author you love
-A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

This is quite different from other Moore I’ve read, but still hilarious. I kept giggling and snickering while reading it in Tina’s and Caitlin’s presence, so they had me read excerpts to them, and not only did they insist that it be my next pick for the LHR Society, the phrase “penis…accident…couldn’t be helped” has become part of our vernacular.

I enjoyed Moore’s melding of historical figures and events and a primarily 19th-century fantasy setting and plot. I especially liked the opening with Vincent Van Gogh’s mysterious “suicide.” I have long been a fan of Impressionist art, so seeing some of my favorite artists brought to life was a real treat. I would have liked more Seurat, though. Bleu was an excellent character, too, both in concept and in execution. She made all the mystical underpinnings of the story work beautifully.

I loved this book and want to recommend it to everybody, but I recognize that that might not be wise. If you already enjoy Moore’s delightfully warped sense of humor and/or you have an interest in the art world in Paris in the 19th century (and promise not to take it too seriously), you should give this book a try.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

