Review: Yes Please

Yes Please
Yes Please by Amy Poehler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #12 for 2015
PopSugar Criterion Met: A memoir

I haven’t even watched Amy Poehler much on SNL, so I was not all that familiar with her work, just vaguely aware that she was funny. I was glad to get to know her here, and I was surprised at how much I identified with her. While I find Tina Fey’s sense of humor more aligned with my own, I feel like Amy and I were far more similar in our backgrounds and how we see the world.

Of course, the child-rearing bits in this book were as foreign to me as Tina Fey’s in Bossypants, and where I had no frame of reference for Fey’s 30 Rock discussions, I was similarly lost whenever Amy brought up Parks & Recreation. Still, the whole of the book was entertaining and far more insightful than one expects when picking up a comedian’s memoir.

That isn’t really fair, though, is it? I am more and more of the opinion that the comedians are the truly insightful people in this world. Mark Twain, for instance, was a humorist whose words are eerily apt even now. And look at Stephen Colbert and Jon Stewart and John Oliver, our modern-day court jesters. Remember, the jesters were valued for their role in speaking the truth when the serious advisers would spout whatever bullshit was convenient at the time. So I am glad to see that Amy Poehler belongs to this fine tradition.

I really enjoyed this memoir and will probably add P&R to my Netflix queue. (Yep, 30 Rock is already there.)

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

