Review: Timebound

Timebound
Timebound by Rysa Walker

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #31 for 2014

I was tempted to give this book 5 stars because so much attention to detail was evident without being obtrusive, and Walker seems to have given some serious thought to working out the intricacies of her time-travel plot. I am also very intrigued and heartened by the whole Rand angle. It seems to have a lot to do with Ayn Rand and Objectivism, and the direction Walker is headed makes me want to read more in this series.

However, there are aspects that lose the book a star. For starters, the young heroine, Kate, is so incredibly trusting and naive that it is a miracle she has survived to see her teen years, let alone the events of this story. Then the weird love triangle is…well, it’s weird. And yes, I realize this is a teen romance book and some hormone-induced gushing is to be expected, and yes, I am grateful that this was not on the order of the gushing in Twilight, but seriously? It was still quite annoying and elicited from me many eyerolls. I have to remind myself, though, that I am not the intended audience for this book, and I still managed to enjoy this book quite a bit.

I think a lot of adults would not have the patience for this book’s more teen-oriented characteristics, but I would recommend this to any teen with an interest in history and/or time travel. I also suspect the series might be good reading for any misguided teen in danger of becoming an Ayn Rand fan.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

