Review: Orange Is the New Black

Orange Is the New Black
Orange Is the New Black by Piper Kerman
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Book #42 for 2014

I didn’t have a particularly strong reaction to this memoir. It seemed competently done, some of the vignettes of prison life were interesting, and Kerman was able to relay her interactions in a straightforward manner while remaining engaging. However, it did drag in spots and sometimes got repetitive. I do appreciate that Kerman tried to do her bit to bring attention to the problems we have in our nation’s prison system, especially when it comes to women’s issues, but it is a topic I studied in grad school, and from my perspective, Kerman’s story offers only a superficial criticism and is skewed by her otherwise privileged background.

I also do not understand how this book was made into a hit TV show. It seems far too tame for that. Of course, I have not watched the show at all, but this book does not really instill in me any desire to do so. It was not a bad read, just a bit on the ho-hum side.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

