Review: Gone Girl

Gone Girl
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #41 of 2014

I was fully prepared to dislike this book, but it turned out to be thought-provoking and suspenseful as well as a fascinating dual character study heightened by its somewhat unusual structure. No, the big plot twist did not throw me at all and was in fact telegraphed very early in the tale. However, that did not detract at all from what was clearly Flynn’s larger goal of presenting a shockingly co-dependent pair of unreliable narrators. Their dysfunctionalities dovetail so perfectly that I felt the book’s ending (which is apparently a disappointment to many) fit extremely well into Flynn’s story structure.

The story does have its flaws. I still don’t understand why Flynn insisted on putting North Carthage near Hannibal, of all places, and there are some plot holes and a few procedural points I would take exception to. But all in all, I would say Flynn did a good job doing what she set out to do: write a ripping good yarn that explores some of the darker nooks and crannies of the human psyche.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

