Review: Maplecroft

Maplecroft
Maplecroft by Cherie Priest
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Book #40 for 2014

I absolutely loved this re-imagining of Lizzie Borden. I am a total sucker for novels with lots of correspondence and journal entries, and Priest did a fantastic job getting the atmosphere right. The Lovecraft influence is clear and there is a good dose of Bram Stoker in there as well. It kept reminding me of De Profundis and probably had a somewhat unsettling effect on my own journal entries at the time.

This is the kind of story that I am leery of saying much about. I feel like I could not do it justice and it is probably just better for you to discover this gem for yourself. So I will just say that I enjoyed how Priest wove the fantastical and the historical into the same intricately textured story peopled with fascinating characters, and I will warn you that the ending of the tale is somewhat ambiguous.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

