Film Review: Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

I’ve heard the book is much better than the movie, so I have purposely put off reading the book. I think this helped me enjoy the movie for what it was, a fun mash-up of vampire horror and alternative history. It wasn’t overtly steampunk, but there were certainly several nice steampunk touches, especially in the vampire wardrobes. And of course there’s a huge steam train sequence. 

The pacing seemed to be a bit off, which probably resulted, at least in part, from the adaptation process. Very few full-length novels make the jump to the big screen well, and I’ve always wondered why more filmmakers don’t concentrate on adapting shorter works. At any rate, it will be interesting to see how or if my opinion on the plotting changes after I’ve read the book. I also wonder if Speed’s character will seem more consistent to me in the novel. Yes, yes, I understand the plot twist involving him. I’m talking about some of the more subtle things in his attitude.

Well, I guess I will just have to read the book before I can say a whole lot more about the movie. But if you’re in the mood for a fun vampire flick with lots of blood and some great action scenes, you could do far worse.

Leave a Reply

